Today was great because:
- I took a shower and hair actually turned out halfway cute, albeit waaaay frizzy (neither are daily guarantees)
- I went to school all day which i love so much, my brain is swimming in wonderful thoughts:
+ learned about the relational and receptive nature of personhood from Prof. Bill Witt. Reading excellent little book Person and Being by W. Norris Clarke inspired by Barth and Card. Ratzinger and based on Thomas Aquinas... basically giving a much needed structure/substance to compliment the recent emphasis on persons as relational. I managed to sneak in an example into my paper from all the blogs I was reading instead of writing my paper all weekend: in these blogs i learned about the breast crawl (babies do it when they're born if you put them on your chest!), organic baby carriers, fabric diapers, orgasmic birth, and well... oh, you ask is there some news? Nope. Just living vicariously through people's blogs.
K, so snippet from this morning's class notes:
Creation as a good thing
+ learned about how cool the gospel of Mark is - never gave it much credit, seemed to short and to the point to be any fun. Also appreciate the purposefulness of the gospel authors so much more hearing Grant talk about them: they have so much political, theological meaning, not just stories.
- Went to Beaver and had taco salad with the Fam. Also. Did laundry there. YAYAYAY!
- Came home and on the drive heard a woman on the radio ask what is wrong with herself/me that there are 140+ million orphans in our world. She cried the whole way through her speech. I cried while i was driving. My life is so... sheltered - easy- painless - self absorbed. My center is ME not my Maker who aches for these little children. Samm and I want to adopt. I hope we actually do. I struggle with the waiting lists, the hastle, the idea that other couples who can't conceive want kids more than I do... yet... then why the millions of uncared for kids?!? Is it just because they are damaged goods? Not babies? God forgive me for ignoring them. God help me know what on earth little me can do about it.
- Highlight: came home and went to Max's Tavern with dear dear friends and husband dear. Talked about how hard surrender is. How everyone's spiritual life looks better than our own. How orphans overwhelm us. How I have a "fear of men" which Samm pointed out, is not a feminist thing to say. So ok, I have a fear of humans. I fear they will not be happy with me and so I cater to them, I let them convince me so that they will not be mad at me. Selfish. Need a new orientation. Happy to have honest and good friends.
Oh yes, and it all began with yogurt and pumpkin spice granola from Trader Joes.
No comments:
Post a Comment